Apple Apologized for Their Bug that Allowed Others to Overhear on Group FaceTime

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

This past week, Apple notified the public that their Group FaceTime application had issues when people were added into a FaceTime call. Due to this issue, users were able to overhear and see others while the call was still going through, even if the the call had not been accepted yet.

The bug affected many people, and the consequences of this seem to be quite severe, as investigations were called upon Apple’s significant privacy flaw. This comes at a relatively humiliating time, especially after Apple had recently lobbied their privacy credentials.

Soon after the bug was discovered, the company released a statement saying:”We sincerely apologize to our customers who were affected and all who were concerned about this security issue. We appreciate everyone’s patience as we complete this process.”

Apple officials announced a new software update release for iPhones, which will enable the Group FaceTime feature again. The iOS update–version 12.1.4–was released today, and can easily be downloaded through the General tab under the Settings application.

When the bug was first publicized, Apple removed FaceTime’s Group feature until the issue was resolved. According to the public, the bug was there long before the issue was announced.

Apple lastly stated, “We take the security of our products extremely seriously and we are committed to continuing to earn the trust Apple customers place in us.”

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Leave a Reply